$2.00
Number of donations
Highest donation
$500.00
Average donation
$20.61

Can't Uninstall InputMapper 1.6.10.19991

1 year 5 months ago #1 by Xebarsis
Windows 10. When I go to "add or remove programs," and try to uninstall InputMapper, I get the attached error message: "Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item." The file path for the error is C:\WINDOWS\system32\msiexec.exe.

If I go directly to the .exe file and try to change the permissions, I'm not able to because everything in system32 by default is read only. Doesn't even matter that I'm an administrator in this situation.

InputMapper recently has had issues trying to recognize more than 3 controllers, so I want to do a clean re-install to see if it clears it up. How do I uninstall InputMapper?
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 year 5 months ago #2 by wirenut48
Do an install first to get the missing uninstall files. The above is just the system file that's throwing the error, it shouldn't be changed.

Make sure you also do a complete uninstall of HID Guardian too, this is more likely what your problem is. It could be hiding the controllers from IM if not installed properly. Follow the sticky thread on exclusive mode, and don't skip any steps.

Asus STRIX X299-E GAMING MB, i7-7820X 3.6/4.5GHz 8-Core, 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum (CMD16GX4M2B2400C10), NVIDIA TITAN X (Pascal), Samsung 970 Pro 1TB M.2-NVMe w/Western Digital 2TB (WD2000F9YZ), Samsung 65Q9FN QLED, HTC Vive, 850w PS, W10

1 year 5 months ago #3 by Xebarsis

I installed InputMapper to the same directory, and I still don't see an uninstall file. I tried to go to add or remove programs again, and got the same error message.
Attachments:

1 year 5 months ago - 1 year 5 months ago #4 by wirenut48